Global Leaders Council

Global Leaders Council for Reproductive Health

The Global Leaders Council for Reproductive Health is a group of eighteen sitting and former heads of state, high-level policymakers and other leaders committed to advancing reproductive health for lasting development and prosperity. Chaired by former President of Ireland Mary Robinson, these leaders will mobilize the political will and financial resources necessary to achieve universal access to reproductive health by 2015 – a key target of the UN Millennium Development Goals.

Members of the Global Leaders Council employ social media, written statements, policy briefs, editorials in major periodicals, speaking engagements at the national and international level, a Population and Global Health Roundtable Series at the Aspen Institute, and other global opportunities to reclaim the debate about reproductive health, highlight linkages to global development that make reproductive health a vital investment, and challenge their fellow policymakers to commit to supporting reproductive health and increasing global reproductive health funding to the estimated $7 billion needed annually to achieve universal access to this critical services.

The Council was launched on September 20th, 2010 at the advent of the United National Millennium Development Goals Summit. The New York Times ran an advertisement regarding the Council's formation, and the Council pledged commitments to the Clinton Global Initiative and to the UN Every Woman, Every Child Campaign for Women's and Children's Health.

In May 2011 at the inaugural event in the Geneva Policy Dialogue Series for Reproductive Health, the Council announced The Resolve Award to honor innovative approaches by governments as they accelerate progress toward universal access to reproductive health through innovative policy development, financing or service provision methods. The award will be presented annually to honor the innovations in reproductive health policies, financing or delivery that are truly making a difference.